Anti- against

Not only is today Valentine’s Day, but I also finished my classes for this “semester”. Now I can relax somewhat stress-free Friday through Sunday. Yay. I took Medical Terminology recently and the prefix in the title of this post seemed to fit this subject precisely.

 

I have never been a huge fan of V-Day. Maybe because I have been mostly single for forever or maybe it’s because I think love should be shown 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Not just February 14. I’m a big sucker for showing affection. “Actions speak louder than words.”

So I have officially planned to start my own tradition. An Anti-Valentine’s Day party that I will begin throwing next year and every year after that until I either: a) get a lover (maybe even while I have that) or b) get married (it’s a long shot but I can hope, can’t I?). This BADASS party will be open to any gender of any age that doesn’t want to go through the rigamarole of V-Day, that would enjoy talking about all the things they DON’T like about it while eating delicious foods, and getting liquored up. Or at least I will be. It’s a perfect excuse! There is one requirement- you have to be single to attend. Or else I would feel bad if I knew your husband or wife and saw you getting drunk and talking crap about them. Not cool.

I couldn't help myself...

I couldn’t help myself…

I know the only way to NOT celebrate something is to not acknowledge it, but hell, this sounds fun! I would’ve started this this year, but since I don’t have my own place yet, it didn’t seem like the best idea. 20 and 30-something-year-olds passing out from too much food/candy/alcohol intake wouldn’t make my father too happy.

I figure since all of the romance driven, happy, in love, sappy couples out there get to have a day all to themselves for spoiling their significant other, so can all the rest of the population. You know, the cynical, sometimes pessimistic, single people. We have feelings too and they normally get squashed when the Jared’s jewelry commercials flood our television watching experiences. I know, I’m single. And I enjoy it that way. Well, most days. More so than others sometimes.

Just to be clear– I am not against LOVE and happiness in any way whatsoever. If you’re happy, then I am happy for you! I just don’t like the “in love” people parading around with their pretty bouquets of flowers and huge boxes of delightful chocolates. I’m a bit jelly. One of my good friends from school received a ruby necklace from her husband for V-Day and although it is pretty impressive, I still couldn’t help thinking, “BARF!!!” But like a good friend, I plastered on a big smile and gawked at it. That’s what friends are here for.

To celebrate Anti-V-Day I have decided to chill with my father and make awesome brownies later. You gotta do what you gotta do. Am I right or am I right?

đŸ˜‰

C

One thought on “Anti- against

Leave a Reply

