Throw me some beads, mister!

Daily Prompt- “You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

D) All of the above.

When I’m learning something new, I usually mix all of these techniques together. I will say I am more of a watcher than a listener though. For most new skills, I usually watch someone do it then I try it myself. If someone just tells me how to do it, it doesn’t sink in.

Like with math. My dreaded subject. If you told me to add 20 to the equation then subject 50 and multiply that answer by 1/3 and divide by 150, I would just give you the deer in headlights look because honestly…I have NO clue what you just said.

If you show me how to add 20 to the equation then subject 50 and multiply that answer by 1/3 and divide by 150, I might could get close to the correct answer.

I am a visual person for sure.

My dad usually fusses at me because I am bad with direction. I can look at a map all day, but still not quite understand where the hell I am or where the hell I’m going. Almost like math. Almost.

Thankfully, I am getting better with my directions in this hectic city. And thankfully there’s MapQuest.

Speaking of my dad, his 59th birthday was yesterday. He’s getting old and I still haven’t even gotten close to giving him any grandchildren. Oops!

Since I have been “granted” 4 out of the 5 days of this week off from school due to Mardi Gras, I think I’ll enjoy them by: relaxing, watching all of the movies my dad hates, eating fatteningly (don’t think that’s a word, but tough) delicious foods, and perhaps studying for my last 2 finals on Thursday.

It’s so hard studying when you don’t want to. I’ve been down this road MANY times along with pretty much 99.9% of all other college students. I must say study groups do help. Even if you don’t want to study you will make yourself because everyone else in the room is doing it OR you can be social and chat it up with your school friends. I do a little bit of both at mine. I have one Wednesday.

Maybe not...

Maybe…

Maybe not...

Maybe not…

Back to Mardi Gras. I’m sure everyone in this country knows that Louisiana is an expert at partying. The citizens take EVERY opportunity to do so and when big holidays like these arrive, they go buck wild. I am not one of those, but next year I do think I will partake in these drunken, crazy, festivities in New Orleans. I wanted to go this year, but I would like to better equip myself and perhaps go with a “big, hulking black guy”. Nah, just kidding. Although I will be bringing along several guys. Big ones if possible. Or at least ones who are black belts in any kind of martial art. A girl needs serious protection in that crazy city! I doubt my pepper spray and pocket knife will cut it. Ha ha, get it? I know.

You do what you gotta do…

C

Leave a Reply

