The 11th item

Daily Prompt– “What’s the 11th item on your bucket list?

 

I haven’t actually taken the time to write out a bucket list. I know, I’m 22. Time is ticking, but I just kind of know what I want to accomplish in my head before I perish.

If I had a bucket list, this is what would be number 11:

Visit all 50 states at least once.

For some reason, I love to travel. I have a horrible sense of direction so these 2 things clash from time to time, but personally I think they just make traveling more interesting. You learn more about cities when you get lost in them. Or that’s my opinion anyways.

I have lived in Louisiana, South Carolina, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, Alabama, Texas. Out of those states I have lived in several cities. My parents thought it would be cool to uproot me every year or, if I was lucky, every couple of years until I got to high school. Let me just say…IT’S NOT COOL AT ALL! You make and lose so many friends when you’ve been to around 7 different schools in your life. The experiences were neat, but never have I ever had a sense of home or a hometown. The longest I’ve lived in one place was 4 years and that’s ONLY because I begged my parents to let me stay in one place for my high school career. And even then a big nasty hurricane came through and screwed that up.

Not only did moving suck, but the whole process. Packing, yard sales, unpacking. I also tended to carry a piece of each accent with me along the way. I didn’t think I sounded very different, but even people in Louisiana say I have an accent. So what if I say, “y’all” and “ain’t” too much? My iPhone says those are actually words so they must be. Ha.

The states I have visited ONLY: Florida and Arkansas.

That’s sad that I can’t visit many states without actually living in them.

I can say one thing though- my allergies are tired of the Deep South. Oh, and so am I!

Rain, sun, wind, heat, cold, clouds. That’s a typical day down here. You never know what each day will do until it actually happens.

I’m not a big fan of those kinds of surprises. I like knowing what to wear and it staying appropriate for the ENTIRE day. Is that so much to ask? NO!!!

I am dying to visit the north. As you already know, I’m slightly obsessed with NYC and would love to visit it BEFORE I reside there.

Or Minnesota.

 

This world is too gigantic to be stuck in one spot for the rest of my life.

I guess I’ll blame my parents for turning me into a nomad. Seems legit.

 

C

3 thoughts on “The 11th item

  1. Oh, you don;t want to visit Minnesota – mosquitoes all summer and winters so bad that one day, in the middle of one, I decided “nuts to this” and three days later I had sold everything I won and was standing on Venice beach California. I’m a Southern Boy, I like it warm!

Leave a Reply

