Practice what you preach

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve given someone that you failed to take yourself?

In my rather small lifetime, I have given tons of advice. Actually, I probably have failed to act on it most of the time.

I think the best piece of advice I’ve ever given was to let someone go.

It’s hard letting go of someone you really care about, but usually when I would give this advice it would be about someone who didn’t deserve to be held on to. Boyfriends, girlfriends, friends, family- you name it.

It would usually be when a girl friend would be asking for advice about a boyfriend that they loved so much, but that didn’t particularly love them as much or even love them back at all. To me, if that person (whoever it may be) doesn’t make time in their life for you then you shouldn’t make time for them. Now I know family is a little different with this because we are born loving our whole family no matter what, but actually this is the one I had the toughest time with. I won’t mention who it was (just in case they read this- they won’t), but it was someone very close to me. We had a stupid fight and she wouldn’t talk to me for MONTHS. There were reasons why, which I found needed to be let go of, but she wouldn’t until a couple months ago when a family emergency happened. I’m still not 100% over what happened because to me the outcome wasn’t fair- I apologized to them, they didn’t to me.

Some things you just have to let go of or else you’ll drive yourself insane, resulting in: depression, anger, sadness, distraction; all of which make you miserable and not the other person(s) involved who may deserve it. That’s what I try to tell my dad when he gets real upset about something he can’t change. It’s not making the other person or thing miserable- only you so why do that to yourself?

It’s HARD AS HELL to do. Trust me, I’ve tried and succeeded in other matters, but it’s worth it. It’s like once you stop caring the issue lessens or even solves itself out.

Next time I give that advice, I will indeed try my best to follow it for EVERY situation. It’ll be hard but worth it in the end. Kind of like the diet I’m supposed to be on right now. HA!

My Swedish massage teacher often tells us this quote from Yoda during class when we are bitching about a certain technique we can’t quite seem to master. “Do or do not. There is no try.”

yoda

Time to get back to studying for tests and finals…booooooo. If you’re in college, good luck on yours!

C

Leave a Reply

