Adopt a Shelter Dog Month

In exactly 1 week people will be opening their doors to kids cheerfully saying “trick or treat!” with their eyes sparkling with the hope that you’ll fill their plastic pumpkins full of delicious candy. That’s not the only holiday October is known for. Besides Breast Cancer Awareness month, October is also the month of National Popcorn Popping and a variety of others.

I can honestly say I got in the spirit last week. I popped a bag of popcorn. It was great.

I felt since Halloween and Breast Cancer Awareness take up most of the spotlight in October that I should research a few other holidays that no one gives any credit to. Of course Breast Cancer has a right to have it’s own month since it’s a spawn of Satan. Moving along…

October:

  • Adopt a Shelter Dog Month
  • American Pharmacist Month
  • Apple Jack Month
  • Awareness Month
  • Breast Cancer Awareness Month
  • Clergy Appreciation Month
  • Computer Learning Month
  • Cookie Month
  • Domestic Violence Awareness Month
  • Eat Country Ham Month
  • International Drum Month
  • Lupus Awareness Month
  • National Diabetes Month
  • National Pizza Month
  • National Vegetarian Month
  • National Popcorn Popping Month
  • Sarcastic Month
  • Seafood Month

Crazy, huh? I would like to know when these became special enough (besides the medical related ones) to have their own month. Cookie month? Seafood month? I can tell we like our food groups. I actually ate seafood tonight so I am definitely feeling the spirit. Fish and crab cakes. Mmm, good.

Read more about the interesting holidays and such in October here.

When Halloween comes, if I’m not working, I will be patiently waiting in my living room with a bowl of candy for the little children who decide to visit. My dad informed me that I will be busy since apparently cars full of “poor” kids will be dropped off in the wealthier (we aren’t even close but our neighbor is) neighborhoods. People, or I should say the parents, have no shame. If any of them give me any trouble I’ll dress up like a scary figment of their imagination. That’s mean though. Maybe I’ll just throw on a mask.

I mustache you a question. Are you jealous of my bushy eyebrows?

Or turn the porch light off and engorge myself in the leftover candy bowl. The worst thing of all would be to fill the bowl with fruit instead of candy. The children would be running and screaming from my house. Muahahahaha!

Decisions, decisions.

Happy Hump Day!

-C-

Leave a Reply

