Same ol’, same ol’…

A lot of the people who read this blog are probably sick and tired of hearing me talk about curves in fashion and all of that. I am here to tell you…get used to it because it is something I seem to be obsessed (slightly) about.

On that note, here is an awesome article I found in Shape magazine online that I want to share by Charlotte Andersen. I’m just quoting what their responses were, so read the full article to see the accusations!

Here is the link if you want to check it out. http://www.shape.com/celebrities/celebrity-photos/20-celebs-criticized-their-curves

The article is about 20 celebs who are criticized throughout their careers for being “too curvy” or however you want to put it. Enjoy!

1.Kim Kardashian- “I’m proud of my body and my curves and this picture coming out is probably helpful for everyone to see that just because I am on the cover of a magazine doesn’t mean I’m perfect.”

2. Christina Hendricks- “Sure, I’d be happier with 10 pounds off—wouldn’t every woman? But when I looked at pictures of myself I thought I looked beautiful. I didn’t tear myself apart.” Her husband also added, “I thought she looked gorgeous. The NY Times critic saying that… it was just ridiculous.”

3. America Ferrera- “I’m a regular-size person. I’m a size 6 or 8, which is totally normal. Sometimes I worry more about losing weight than gaining weight, because this is how people know and accept me. I do feel like if I wanted to get in better shape, there might be a backlash of, ‘Why isn’t she comfortable with herself anymore?’ ”

4. Beyonce- Talking about her song Bootylicious… “I wrote that because, at the time, I’d gained some weight and the pressure that people put you under, the pressure to be thin, is unbelievable. I was just 18 and you shouldn’t be thinking about that. You should be thinking about building up your character and having fun, and the song was just telling everyone to just forget what people are saying, you’re bootylicious. That’s all. It’s a celebration of curves and a celebration of women’s bodies.”

5. Kelly Clarkson- This is my favorite response!”I have a curvy figure, which guys like.” Adding, “I could die tomorrow. Do I wanna die on a diet? Am I gonna meet God on an empty stomach? Probably not—I’m gonna meet him with some steak and taters in my stomach!”

6. Mariah Carey- “Everyone said I was fat, so I did something about it…” “Here! Feel my thighs! Feel my butt!”

7. Jennifer Hudson- At first the actress defended her weight replying, “I looked around, like, ‘Who is she talking to? Oh, me? I’m plus-sized?’ In the neighborhood I’m from in Chicago, a size 16 is normal. But in Hollywood, everyone looks exactly the same, so I stood out.” But then she became a spokesperson for Weight Watchers, losing over 80 pounds—a feat for which she’s arguably more famous for than her Tony or Oscar. And in an interview with Self magazine she agreed, proclaiming, “I’m prouder of my weight loss than my Oscar!”

8. Nicole Richie- While she’s never said much publicly about the cruel comments, her actions speak louder than words. The star quickly dropped so much weight that ever since, she’s had to fight off rumors of an eating disorder or gastric surgery. But as she told Vanity Fair, “I know I’m too thin right now. I really do need to do something about it.”

9. Jennifer Lopez- “I like my body. For most of my adult life, my body hasn’t gone up or down, it’s remained the same, give or take 4 pounds.” She adds, “I have a butt, I have boobs, and I have a woman’s curves; there is no way I’d see them go to zero. I hate to look in a magazine and see a picture of a girl who looks so thin she looks unhappy and as if she just needs someone to give her a good meal.”

10. Jessica Alba- “I can never get down to the weight I was before I had Honor, no matter how hard I try.” She adds, “It’s not always so great to be objectified, but I don’t feel I have much of a choice right now.”

I just posted the first 10 celebs, but there are 20 in the list! I love how they have great responses, especially Kelly Clarkson and Tyra Banks’. I hope the more blogs I post about curves (and how they are FINE to have), the more women of all ages will feel more comfortable in their own skin. I hope one day that happens to me as well! Ha ha 🙂

-C-

Leave a Reply

