A quick excursion down to New Orleans

Everyone has to do it at least once in their lives. New Orleans has been a city gossiped about for centuries, with reason of course. Today my dad and I took a quick trip down to “The Big Easy”. The drive went well and was only an hour and a half. Thankfully.

The sun was shining, the heat index was increasing, and the people were friendly. Even though I look like a baked chicken right now, I had fun.

Walking a few blocks from a nice (and reasonably priced) parking lot, we made our way to the French Quarter area. I must say, for a hurricane just passing through there, I didn’t notice at all. It looked as beautiful as ever. I loved the greenery hanging from every balcony, the trees on every block. It was just gorgeous. I know, I know…it’s hard to believe since it’s the Mardi Gras party city once a year, but it’s true. We didn’t make our way down to Bourbon Street. That’ll be for another trip. Possibly one WITHOUT my dad so I can taste the local…cuisine.

We did however visit the French Market. Even though there weren’t a lot of tourists around town it looked as if all of them were in that one strip of sidewalk. I did enjoy checking out all of the different booths and interesting people who ran them. I could spend quite a few bucks in there. Yep. We decided to high tail it when a foreign guy followed us around for a little bit trying to sell us items. No means no.

After that, sweaty and hungry, we landed at the Gazebo Cafe which is a lovely outside restaurant with the most delicious muffaletta’s ever! And they have jazz bands playing too which gives it the right atmosphere. If you visit NOLA, you must try one. And when I say one I clearly mean a half or a fourth of one because they are huge! I could only eat a fourth. I know, I’m a wuss. Our waiter was an interesting little guy until he called me my dad’s wife. Eww. Sadly, that happened twice today.

After finishing our delicious sandwich, we strolled on to the candy shop a few feet away and scrounged us up a couple award-winning pecan pralines. I must say, they tasted GOOD.

Even though I would have liked to have visited Bourbon Street and a few other areas, I did enjoy our short trip. They had tons of adorable hotels to stay at right in the midst of the French Quarter if you do plan to make a weekend of it or whatever. I do plan on going on a haunted cemetery tour of New Orleans sometime soon. That’s right up my alley.

So if you’re ever down in the deep south of Louisiana you should totally stop by. Parking is cheap, the food is great, the atmosphere is 1 of a kind. You will enjoy it, but I do warn you…if you go around a holiday be ready for a crowd. But you already knew that. 😉

-C-

9 thoughts on “A quick excursion down to New Orleans

  1. I have to get down to the french quarter again – love that architecture. Good post!

  2. One of my favorite cities. Thanks for the photos. Took me back.

  3. Really great pics. Feel like I’m there.

    I did make it right after 9/11 when (w/no planes) I had to drive from Orlando, FL to San Jose, CA. Bought some undies and an atlas and figured out where to stop on the way: New Orleans, San Antonio, and Tuscon.

    Glad I made it before Katrina. But looks like it’s still looking good.

    • Thank you! It was amazing to see tons of homes rebuilt and the University of New Orleans too. It is all still amazing! I’m glad Katrina didn’t completely ruin it forever. I never visited it before Katrina so I’m not sure what the difference was but I couldn’t tell! Sounds like you had a fun trip though!!

  4. Hi Candice, Wow … great photos and descriptions. You really nailed it. We just got back – used to live there – and we had a blast! All the best, Terri

Leave a Reply

