Life is what you make it

True/False: I realize I haven’t written a blog in about a week which is by far the longest I’ve ever gone without doing so because I haven’t had anything to really blog about.

FALSE!

That was the thought that crossed my mind about 5 minutes ago and you know what, that’s the biggest lie ever. We, as humans, think so many thoughts a day that they are truly countless and endless. So…there’s no excuse for myself. Moving along…

Today is one of those lovely sweltering days where I have about 10 different thoughts cross my mind per minute so I’m going to try and capture them as best as I can.

1. One of my dear friends from high school told me about a week or so ago that she was pregnant. My first reaction was not “Yay! I’m so happy for you. Congrats!” it was actually (in my head) “Shit, shit, shit.” That is the typical reaction these days when an unmarried young woman/adult (16-21) tells someone that she is pregnant no matter how responsible and loving she may be. That’s sad, huh? I told my mom and her reaction was “poor girl!” Pregnancy is supposed to be a very happy experience in a woman’s life no matter what age she is. Why do we react so negatively? Because society has turned to shit. Grandparents are raising their grandchild’s kids because they are _______ (I’ll let you choose the right word) and sometimes don’t think decisions through before realizing the complicated consequences. I look on Facebook and see that about half of my friends who are around my age having kids and not even trying to live a life before doing that. To me, and I know I’m not the only person in the world, having children at this age without being married or financially stable scares the crap out of me. I know that’s not the case with all young women. Back in the olden days, when someone was pregnant they would be MARRIED and be completely settled down by the time the child came which is actually how I want to be. Now I’m rambling…

2. I found my new favorite song which brings memories that I don’t always welcome about my first love and how I’m no longer in love or even wanting a boyfriend at this point in my life. Poison & Wine by The Civil Wars. I heard this on Something Borrowed and completely fell in love with it. It is an older song by a band who isn’t very well-known, but I LOVE it. You should check it out.

3. I live better alone. The longer I live with my dad I see that I really honestly do better alone. I’m one of those people who really can’t get along with anyone (when they live together) no matter how close they are to me for long periods of time.

4. Never borrow money from a family member. I let dad pay for a college class I’m taking right now and even though he was helping he tends to hold it over my head at times. THAT’S MY BIGGEST PET PEEVE.

5. I have always loved trees in yards because they are just gorgeous and add something special to houses. I now hate them. After picking up millions of tiny and big limbs after the minor hurricane that passed through (and they fall at all other times too), I see what a big pain in the ass it is and why apartments are so nice. You don’t have to worry about yard work.

6. I was trying to go to sleep last night around 1 a.m. and just as I was falling asleep a large black bug fluttered around my face jolting me upright. I turned on my lamp and hunted down that bug for at least 10 minutes. I have the fear of mosquitoes when I sleep. If there’s one buzzing around I will stay up until I kill it! I can’t imagine what the pioneers did when they lived in tents, outside, and without A/C. It’s plain and simple- I would’ve died from a heart attack. People are major wussies these days it seems, huh?

Well those are all of my thoughts right now since I couldn’t just pick one and write about it. Until next time…

-C-

2 thoughts on “Life is what you make it

  1. Rapid and random, Much enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

