Spam happens.

Media is a powerful thing. Like my blog on music yesterday, I noticed it can persuade you to do a lot of things. One such persuasion is subscribing to the mailing list. In the past, I have gotten a little too excited about certain websites. So excited that I went ahead and signed up for e-mails. What I didn’t think of, is how many e-mails I’d be getting. Let’s just say….I am glad I have a spam box. Once a company or person gets a hold of your e-mail address, many more will do the same.

Today I took a little time out and went through my trash bin to unsubscribe to about 10 very annoying e-mail subscriptions. I now feel guilty! I was subscribed to ones like The Humane Society, The Breast Cancer Site, The Hunger Site, Greater Good Network, The Animal Rescue Site, ShoeDazzle Stylists, Clinique, Stila, and the list goes on. When you click the small link at the bottom (which is in incredibly SMALL font), it redirects you to a page where you are able to unsubscribe or edit your mailing options in order to get less e-mails. Of course, I chose to opt out of all of them. Yes, even the cute kittens and puppies couldn’t stop me today. The worst thing? The way they make you feel BAD for doing this!!! Like your killing a dog or something. Underneath a cute picture of a young girl holding her kitten, it says:

“Dear Constituent,

At your request, you have been unsubscribed from our mailing list. We apologize if our e-mail updates inconvenienced you in any way.

If your needs change in the future, we hope that you will consider subscribing to receive information updates from us again.

The Humane Society of the United States”

Doesn’t that make you want to subscribe all over again? I think they hire people just so that they can think of the best way to guilt trip someone into not unsubscribing. I almost subscribed again! Sad, huh??

I’ve donated to The Humane Society before and got those cute little address labels in the mail. I did enjoy that. They should do that more often, but I guess since I quit donating that’s a lost cause. Hmm…

As for the e-mails from companies such as Clinique, Ulta, or Stila…they could care less. I love the coupons they send me, but I’d have to be rich to be able to use them all.

Media can be a great tool for making someone or something well known, but it can easily go too far. AKA spam mail!

I really don’t know why I felt the need to blog about unsubscribing to e-mails, but I did.

Happy Saturday!

-Candice-

One thought on “Spam happens.

  1. Here, here. I agree wholeheartedly! But I am STILL a sucker for signing up for mailing lists….

Leave a Reply

