I have no clue…

I once heard that if you had a dictionary by you when you were reading a book and stumbled across a word you didn’t know, you could look it up and it would stick with you because you took the time to look it up. Ever since then I have had my pocket dictionary (one I got from my previous college’s bookstore) beside me when I read. I love it! Being an avid reader, there are a few words I stumble across and just can’t use context clues to figure them out. This is such a simple task. Bookmarking your page, setting the book down, reaching over, grabbing a dictionary, look the word up. I (and this will sound strange) love doing this. I don’t know if it’s the mystery behind what I’m going to find when searching or if it’s just fun learning new definitions. One day I got so caught up in this that I actually read the dictionary. That’s not something I do on a regular basis. If you’re feeling dumb, read the dictionary. It helps!

You most likely think I’m the biggest nerd ever right now, but I assure you I’m actually not. Far from it. I wish I was a nerd. They don’t hardly stress over academic work. You know how I am with math. Illiterate. Moving on…

I don’t really know the moral of this story, but I just thought it was cool.

In life, if we stop and take the time to think about something small, it could be very rewarding in the end. Something as simple as looking up a foreign word in the dictionary or reading the ingredients on a food you are about to devour, could result in knowing it forever and when you land a spot on the JEOPARDY! game show you might win some money.

Silly, right?

Okay so I may have had a few drinks last night and can’t really think of anything to blog about, but I do know (in my tired haze) that I want to write something…

Oh! I do want to mention a neat movie I watched the other day. Yes, I’m well aware that I watch a lot of movies.

Salmon Fishing in the Yemen (2011, PG-13) starring Emily Blunt and Ewan McGregor. Good movie. It’s not your run of the mill movie so it’s a nice change from the usual action or romantic comedies I watch. I enjoyed it’s adventure, romance, and a sheik? Yes, he was great. The sheik was played by Amr Waked. I’ve never seen him in anything else I don’t think, but I enjoyed his character. I won’t tell you anything more about it because it can be predictable in some  (not all) parts and I’ll ruin it. So if you’re bored today…watch it. I gave it 6 stars out of 10. For movies with 7 stars or above, I’ll write a full review of it, but sadly for those I rate under 7, no.

Hope everyone has a great Sunday!

-Candice-

Leave a Reply

