Do good things REALLY come to those who wait?

I have tried to prove that saying throughout my life by using myself and others, but it really doesn’t exist. Sure, good things come to everybody, but because you make them happen. Is it karma or just the circle of life? Who knows.

In order for us to get good things in life we must try our hardest. You won’t get anything by sitting on your butt and doing nothing. Although there are those annoyingly lucky people (if you believe in luck) that just happen to have great things happen to them all the time. That’s not fair, but neither is life. Those people may secretly work their butts off too and just not mention it to everyone.

We would be fools to wait around for the good things to come. Or at least that’s how I see it. I would rather work for them and feel successful when I get them instead of someone giving them to me. I will admit, some days I do wake up wanting to be given everything on a silver platter, but you can’t squeeze blood out of a turnip.

I had an appointment with an adviser at LSU today and instead of it getting me all pumped up about my future I got letdown. It was not the advisers fault (she was just doing her job), it was mine. I changed majors about 6 times in my past and now I am paying for it. I am no longer a junior, in my eyes, because I have only 55 credits that will go towards the 120 I need in order to graduate with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology. I knew I had a little bit left, but I never imagined that I had over half! It bummed me out, but I realized when I do FINALLY graduate I will be a very brilliant adult or so I hope. A big part of living life is seeing that clouds do have a silver lining. As I ran back to the car, in the pouring rain, from my appointment, I did not want to see that damn thing, but later on when I dried off it poked out.

There are many “secrets” to life, but I’d rather call them discoveries. I find one almost every week and even though I’m not sunshine and rainbows 24/7 I still know there are possibilities. If I want to be sunny and cheerful I can be. We work hard for what we want and that’s what we should reward ourselves for. I should be punishing myself for switching majors so many times, but that wouldn’t do me any good. Instead, I am going to work harder and take a few extra classes to try and catch up. All we can do is try, right?

Another thing that I fail to see on a daily basis, which is very sad, is that I have been given more opportunities than a lot of other young adults my age in this world. Instead of going to college and solely focusing on that, I could be in another country working for hardly any money and starving to death. I could have a learning disability that cripples me to the point where it takes an army to get me to learn simple tasks. It’s a must to be thankful. Or we’ve got nothing.

So next time your down and out, try not to sit around and punish yourself. Make a list of all of the good things you’ve accomplished. There will always be setbacks in life, which I’m sure you’ve already figured out 10 times over, BUT they are only meant to set you back not set you down. Stepping stones my bloggers, they are only stepping stones.

I am going retire to my dungeon I mean bed chamber now. Remember breathe and don’t forget to smile. 🙂

-Candice-

Leave a Reply

