Eye Makeup: Go big or go home!

Tips for goin’ BIG! Sorta…

Today I chatted online with a makeup artist from Smashbox and she gave me some great and easy-to-follow advice on what to use with blue eyes and how to apply makeup to small eyelids. I figured I would share this information since it’s from a true makeup professional!

Having learned all of this somewhat new information, I will now attempt to show you how to do it all!

Before you read the following steps, I want to point out that these makeup products aren’t cheap, BUT they do the job right. I went on a makeup shopping spree months ago and almost maxed out a credit card (what can I say, I’m a woman), but it was worth it. I don’t wear makeup every day, but when I do these are the steps I take. I figured I’d go ahead and show my “tools” to you so if you were suffering with a makeup product that didn’t work, these might could solve that issue for you. Hope they work for you!

Basic steps for applying eye makeup! Remember I am NOT a makeup artist and you will get a bird’s eye view of my lovely non decorated bathroom.

Now, of course, is the absolute worst makeup application I have ever done in my life. Go figure! These photos will be a rough view. The gold I used wasn’t gold enough so that experiment failed and my cream eyeliner failed so I added the liquid on top. Usually I add eyeshadow on top of the liner so it doesn’t look quite so clean, but this time I did not..as you’re about to witness…do I ramble like that a lot? Sheesh…

Step 1: Clean your face. I use CeraVe foaming cleanser every day. Although it doesn’t foam, it helps against aging so I guess that’s a fair trade off, right?

Step 2: Make sure foundation is applied to the entire eye area to set the look. I use a couple different types. When I feel like putting on serious coverage (usually for special events) I use Smashbox Studio Skin which is a liquid. On normal days, I use I.d. Mineral powder by Bare Escentuals with a mineral veil. Both of these cover very well and hide redness, which I have! And when I’m being SUPER lazy, I’ll just dab on Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream. I also got this as a sample for free with another purchase. I’ll be using this one today.

So sorry for how blurry it is! This is the BB cream if you can’t tell.

Step 3: Apply lid primer. I use Smashbox Photo Finish lid primer. I actually got it free with a purchase as a sample. I love free stuff!

Sorry AGAIN for the blurry photo. That’s the lid primer.

Hint- make sure you choose eyeshadow colors that work for your eye color and skin tone. I have blue eyes and I have fair (and pink) skin so I will use golds, blues, greens, pinks, and purples. Anything with metallic flecks in it will work for any eye and skin color. The flecks are supposed to catch light and make everything look good!

These are the colors I use.

Step 4: Apply darkest color to the lower lid right above your eyelashes. I am trying something new and applying a dark gold metallic by Cargo. I love gold!

Step 5: Next, blend the lighter eyeshadow to upper eye right under the eyebrow to highlight the eye. I am using a light pink by Lancome.

Hint: if you want a bold look, you can apply a thin layer of eyeshadow underneath your lower eyelashes.

Step 6: After that apply a highlighter to the inner corner of your eye. I will use a white eyeshadow in the same pallet as the pink.

Step 7: Apply a thin line of eyeliner by starting at the inside corner of your eye then going outward. This will give the illusion that your small eyes are bigger and make them POP! As for the bottom, start thick and get thinner toward the inner eye. For small eyes, basically stop the eyeliner in the middle of the lower eye to make the eyes seem bigger. If you want to do one or the other that works too, but to really make those eyes POP! do top and bottom. I use 2 different types of eyeliner because some days I don’t want to go through a bunch of trouble. The liquid is easiest when you don’t have a lot of time (I use L’Oreal Telescopic Waterproof). The cream liner is used with an eyeliner brush and works great, but requires a little more time. I use Smashbox Jet Set Waterproof.

Man, I sure do make funny faces when I’m concentrating…

After failed attempt #1

Step 8: Apply mascara to top and bottom lashes. I use Smashbox Full Exposure mascara in jet black. I also use a blue mascara sometimes when I want a more natural look. It’s not quite as bold.

Top and bottom lashes.

Step 9: Curl lashes right after applying mascara because it sucks when you sneeze and end up with mascara on your cheeks! I use a $3 curler from Walgreens.

This should be used as a torture device.

Hint: you should clean your makeup brushes weekly (especially if you use them every day) with a brush cleaner that can be purchased from pretty much any drugstore or department store. I will be getting some of this soon! I wish I had it already so that I could clean my brushes before I showed you all how dirty they were.

Here’s the horribly finished product…

Not what it’s meant to look like, but it does make your small eyes pop, right?

This was my first ever makeup how-to so I hope everyone can get some tips out of it and if not hopefully a giggle or 2 from my horrible camera skills and funny faces. 🙂

-Candice-

Leave a Reply

