Curves like a roller-coaster, without the vomiting.

When I was surfing the web yesterday, I ran across a fascinating young woman. Tara Lynn is a plus-size model who has reinvented the modeling industry. In only her mid twenties, she has posed for all sorts of brand name fashion magazines and even had a 20 or so page spread in the French Elle magazine a couple years ago.

Elle France: The “Ronde” Edition.

It’s so refreshing to see models with meat on their bones and to have curves. I don’t know why curves ever went out of style because they are what make us women in the first place. Without them…well..we’d simply look like men and who wants that? Not me.

She’s workin’ it

So I went on a research frenzy and found all sorts of photos of Tara posing for huge fashion magazines and found out too that she works for Tom Ford. Anyone who knows anything about the world of high fashion knows that’s not a small name.

The world definitely needs more models like her. Can you imagine a world without anorexia and other eating disorders because of the stick thin models on the catwalks? It would be simply amazing. These (literally) stick-thin models that walk the runways nowadays look like they could float away if someone blew air in their direction and definitely do NOT look healthy. I’m not trying to sound critical of these women, but I do feel for them and will admit I have fantasized about what it would be like to take them to a buffet of hamburgers and cupcakes. I love food WAY too much to ever stop eating (sometimes I wish otherwise). If you’re naturally skinny then I am not referring to you at all!

She needs some hamburgers and cupcakes

Now, Tara isn’t the only plus-size model out there. I am sure you’ve seen others if you are, like me, a magazine guru. Every time I do see an add with a curvy woman posing, I want to tear it out and pin it to my wall just so that when I wake up every day I will see it and start to think I am not fat, but curvy. And most men like curves (as I learned in my earlier survey). I hate the word fat by the way. It’s such an ugly word..unless you’re referring to an adorably fat hamster or puppy.

I do give kudos to these models because you and I both know they are heavily criticized for their weight and not everyone who sees them, views it as beauty. Maybe one day that will change. I don’t hope for people to view the “sticks” as ugly or anything, but just to broaden their horizons and see curviness as beautiful also.

I absolutely love this outfit

When I was on my web surfing frenzy, I also went ahead and found some style tips for petite (under 5’4) curvy women (which is me). So if you do fall into that category, check these out by Adam Glassman:

“Dress for the size you are—not what you want to be or once were! Work with what you have! Own it.”

  • Dress from the inside out. A well-fitting bra and shape wear will camouflage all lumps and bumps.
  • Clothes should skim your body, not cling to it like sausage casing! Think high-waist, wide trousers, and A-line or flared skirts.
  • Don’t cover your curves! Big clothes on big bodies only make you look bigger.
  • Skirts should end just before or under the kneecap. Your legs will look longer.
  • Shorter, fitted jackets will also flatter your legs—and waist.
  • Avoid elasticized waistbands. They might be comfortable, but they add bulk to your midsection.
  • Keep necklines open. A deep V- or scoop neck lengthens your neck.
  • A dress with a belt will cinch you in, focusing attention on your smaller waist.
  • Wide feet need to be counterbalanced with wide heels. A thinner heel only draws attention to your wider foot.

What I love about these tips are they’re for normal women who don’t have thousands of dollars to spend on one wardrobe and they’re SIMPLE! To me, simple=love especially in my closet.

My “petite” curvy 5’2 build…

Anyways…I also wanted to mention that due to this bit of inspiration from Tara, I will be starting a fashion blog along with this one in the near future. I am not sure when, but I will keep you all posted.

Hope to see you next time…

-Candice-

2 thoughts on “Curves like a roller-coaster, without the vomiting.

  1. Howdy! On Facebook, I tend to yak about the national obsession against “obesity” (The War Against “Fat” People). I just finished a rant on a post. If people could see the picture of the skeletal model on this page, they might get a turnaround as to what “beauty” is…everyone should be considered beautiful in society…certainly, no one should be openly (read: OPENLY) discriminated against because of relative “over” weight. At the rate the insurance industry is going, if you are “normal” weight now, you might not be in five years, and not gain a pound. A couple of decades ago, the upper threshold for diagnosing diabetes was 140, maybe 160. When I was diagnosed 10 years ago, it was 120 (and yes, I was well over that threshold). Reading some company insurance pamphlets a few months ago, it’s now 100. What’s changed? The ones who make the rules…that’s all. (FYI…many people feel hypoglycemic – low blood sugar – at 100…who can function with that?)
    If one is eating right, relatively in-shape (no need to be like a Navy SEAL) and CONFIDANT, then, I feel, that’s sexy. (But I prefer curvy women, so it’s subjective in that sense.)

Leave a Reply

