Spicing things up…with books?

I have noticed (before I started blogging) that my life may be full of interesting events, but it really isn’t all that interesting to read about so I’m switching it up a bit. Instead of solely writing about me, me, me, I will write about things I like. For example, I love reading for fun (crazy I know). Not using a Kindle or Nook or anything else technological, but going to the library and actually checking out books. Or when I’m feeling super spontaneous buying a couple from Amazon. So far this summer I have managed to read 10 books. They were: Fifty Shades of Grey, Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, Swoon, L.A. Candy, Sugar and Spice, Skinned, Crashed, Wired, Party, and The Hollow. Taking a look at this list pretty much shows that I like reading about supernatural dramatic sex. That kind of worries me when I put it all together, but it’s true. It’s my guilty pleasure.

When I read a book it feels like I leave my life and enter a whole different reality. Sometimes the realities in the books can be one I long for and others…not so much. Even if the reality in the book isn’t great it still lets you escape for a brief time from your own life. In those minutes when you’re engulfed in a page turner, you can be anyone you want, go anywhere you want, do anything you want. What’s not to love about that? You know if you follow the words on those pages, even if there’s a gripping murder taking place, you won’t wake up in a jail cell 5 minutes later when your eyes leave the page. If you put yourself in the shoes of the woman who finally decided to cheat on her cheating husband, you won’t feel guilty when you go to sleep by your own husband that night. It’s like another world where anything is possible WITHOUT consequences.

I absolutely love this.

Out of those 10 books (I read from cover to cover), my favorite had to have been Hold Me Closer, Necromancer. If you like supernatural characters with heart and umph this is definitely a book you would like. It had action, romance, humor, and super human beings in it with just enough powers to keep things interesting. And human. What more could you ask for? It was hard to put down for sure. I will be researching to see if that author wrote any more books.

Out of those 10 books, my least favorite was The Hollow. It is the first book in a trilogy about a teenage girl who loses her best friend and low and behold comes to find out her best friend had secrets. Big shocker there. What I disliked so much was the way the story line went. The cover is so pretty and there are reviews from other authors of other books I’ve read that I loved…it’s basically just a big lie. In my eyes. The saying, “don’t judge a book by its cover” is definitely true in this aspect. I tried to read the second book in the series, but just could not get into it. I was pretty disappointed. Beware with that one. There was one cool thing about it…it was based in the town of Sleepy Hollow. If it had Johnny Depp playing Ichabod Crane, I would’ve loved it I’m sure, but the only character slightly amusing was the dead boy that the main character falls in love with. That must suck.

I did manage to read the whole trilogy including Skinned, Crashed, and Wired. They reminded me of the movies you watch when the world has went through an “apocalypse” and what’s left are cities of rubble and darkness with a few humans left where the technological advances have come so far that you barely know what the hell anything is anymore. Sadly there are no zombies in this book. I did find this trilogy somewhat interesting, but unfortunately I was able to put the book down quite a few times.

Fifty Shades of Grey was a book in its own category. One of my good friends from college told me this book was dirty and just amazing. So of course being the super curious person I am I went and bought it off Amazon. It was one of those spontaneous moments. Let’s just say I will be buying the rest of the series. I can honestly say I have never read a book like that in my life. Even those romance novels you used to sneak in your room that you found on your mom’s bookshelf can’t compare to this book. That should say plenty in itself. Am I right? Find out for yourself.

I am sad to admit that I bought The Hunger Games with Fifty Shades of Grey and still have not read it. It’s like once all of the movie reviews took over you didn’t even need to read the damn book. I did not go see the movie either. It’s the new Twilight. I’ll pass. Now those books were great. I enjoyed them WAY better than the shitty movies. The actors and actresses just ruined it. You’ll see my movie critic side soon enough.

I love when directors and producers just KNOW they can make a fantastic book into a fantastic movie. Never happens. The only time I preferred the movie over the book was when I saw The Help. FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC. I read it after and was shocked to find the movie was more enticing. So I watched it over and over again and cried like a little baby every time.

Back to books. I have read hundreds in my life (for fun!) and sit here and try to remember all of them, but it’s impossible.

I hope this post is a little more interesting than just my life occurrences. Remember…I am new to this and am still trying to break out of my shell. Bear with me, please. 🙂

OH! and stay tuned for other book “reviews” to come. Fifty Shades of Grey has just begun…

-Candice-

Leave a Reply

