We know you’re great; do you?

Today there’s something that has been on my mind lately that I know many girls

of all ages have suffered without for years; self-esteem. In the dictionary, you

will notice that the definition of self-esteem is “a confidence and satisfaction

in oneself: self respect”. I had to look it up because I had forgotten what it meant, which is

pretty sad.

Confidence can consist of many things. Beauty, brains, power, and control are only a few.

I’ve noticed in this day and age younger girls are looking way older. Starting

off as early as 12 or 13 wearing makeup and dressing like their older sisters or

mothers. Back when I was a kid, I played dress up, but still loved being a kid.

Getting dirty and not caring how my hair looked was a daily ritual for me.

Why do so many girls start off so young lacking this major part in their

personalities? Is it our society constantly portraying that thin is beautiful?

Or is it the embarrassment or humiliation one might feel if they are labeled

uncool for being too smart or not smart enough in school?

As each decade passes, society gets even stricter about what its definition of

beauty is. The definition of beauty is in fact “the quality or aggregate of

qualities in a person or thing that gives pleasure to the senses or pleasurably

exalts the mind or spirit”. Everyone has their own definition of beauty of

course, but natural beauty is something women should be proud of. The world of

makeup has put quite a damper on natural beauty. Some women can’t even leave

their homes without some sort of it on. If it makes you feel beautiful go for it,

but is it really who you are?

(Ignore the crappy iPhone quality camera) here is an unedited photo of me with no makeup on.

Back in the day, women were loved for being curvy and voluptuous. Nowadays

that’s changed to skin and bones. The Greeks had it right. Take a look at the

statues of the Greek goddesses. None of them were skinny and perfect yet they were

revered. If you think about it, women are allowed to have curves and actually are

supposed to in order to raise children. Does “child bearing hips” come to mind?

Years ago when I was a fourth grader, I remember becoming obsessed with the

Olsen twins. I thought they were the bees knees. That obsession led to my

constant thoughts of thinking I had to be skinny. I am thankful (and actually

surprised) that I never developed an eating disorder because of these thoughts.

My obsession turned into an idea that has stayed with me to this day. Back then

I focused on the characteristics that skinny girls had such as their hip bones

poking out and I even noticed collar bones. I would spend hours in the mirror

tucked away in my bedroom trying to make my stomach look a certain way or move

my shoulders different ways in order to make my collar bone show. Not only do I

look at myself in the mirror and only sometimes like what I see, but I also don’t love

myself like I should no matter how many good things I do. Many, if not all, of

us have SO much to be thankful for. Things we overlook on a daily basis. Even

knowing those things doesn’t help does it? Maybe one day it will. I’m not saying

every person out there doesn’t count their blessings every day, but you got to

admit…not many probably do.

To me, every girl is beautiful in her own unique way. Big, small, short, tall.

It doesn’t matter. We were all created a different way by the genes of our

parents who love us for who we are. Why can’t we simply give ourselves a break

and do the same? Because it’s impossible. We will probably never be happy with

what we’ve got until it’s taken away from us. The only thing we can do to love

ourselves is to cut us some slack. Everyone makes mistakes and that’s something

we’ve got to understand. So what if you’ve got a pimple in the middle of your

forehead that makeup can’t cover or didn’t ace that test like you thought you would. Those little

imperfections make us who we are and that’s what we should never ever forget.

If perfect people existed do you think you would want to meet one? Think about

that…

Stay tuned for Lauren’s blog on self esteem later on this week!

-Candice-

Leave a Reply

